FreshBooks
Strong ChoiceInvoicing, expenses, time tracking and accounting for freelancers and small service businesses. No free plan; Lite from $23/mo (30-day trial).
Prices checked October 21, 2026freshbooks.com pricing page
Tool matchup
FreshBooks vs ZipBooks for consultants. Compare two Ops & Finance tools on pricing, setup speed, strengths, and Curalo score.
Invoicing, expenses, time tracking and accounting for freelancers and small service businesses. No free plan; Lite from $23/mo (30-day trial).
Prices checked October 21, 2026freshbooks.com pricing page
It centralizes operational and finance tasks that otherwise create delivery drag.
Prices checked October 22, 2026zipbooks.com pricing page
FreshBooks leads by 6 points (strong advantage).
Decision shortcuts
Client-ready brief
Send a concise summary of winner, trade-offs, and rollout recommendation.
Best fit
Best for: Solo consultants and small firms who want invoicing, time, expenses and accounting in one place with little setup.
Why pick it: Invoices, time tracking, expenses and real accounting reports in one product built for service businesses, so billable hours become paid invoices without a second tool.
Watch for: Lite only lets you invoice 5 clients. If you only need a few invoices a month, a free option like Zoho Invoice or Wave is enough. If your business is registered in Israel, a local tool such as Morning fits better.
Best for: Consultants running delivery, billing, and back-office operations.
Why pick it: It centralizes operational and finance tasks that otherwise create delivery drag.
Watch for: Avoid if you already run an integrated finance and operations stack with no tooling gaps.
Swipe sideways to compare all columns.
FreshBooks | ZipBooks | |
|---|---|---|
| Quick facts | ||
| Pricing sanity | From $23/mo | Free, paid from $15/mo |
| Integrations | 6+ | 3+ |
| Score breakdown | ||
| Outcome fit | 22/25 | 20/25 |
| Setup speed | 14/20 | 13/20 |
| Pricing sanity | 10/15 | 10/15 |
| Integrations | 12/15 | 10/15 |
| UX polish | 11/15 | 11/15 |
| Trust & support | 9/10 | 8/10 |
| Summary | ||
| Best for | Solo consultants and small firms who want invoicing, time, expenses and accounting in one place with little setup. | Consultants running delivery, billing, and back-office operations. |
| Key strength | Strong on trust | Strong on outcomes |
| Main weakness | Weaker on pricing | Slower to set up |
Pricing
| Plan | Price | Limits (vendor's wording) |
|---|---|---|
| Lite | $23 per account / month, billed monthly | Send invoices to up to 5 clients; expense tracking |
| Plus | $43 per account / month, billed monthly | Send invoices to up to 50 clients |
| Premium | $70 per account / month, billed monthly | More clients and features; see pricing page |
Prices checked October 21, 2026freshbooks.com pricing page
| Plan | Price | Limits (vendor's wording) |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | Free | Unlimited invoices, vendors and customers; Square or PayPal payments; 1 bank account |
| Smarter | $15 per account / month (billing period not stated) | Recurring invoices with auto-bill; reminders; time tracking; 5 team members; the pricing page shows 15 with no billing period |
Prices checked October 22, 2026zipbooks.com pricing page
Cost calculator
No paid plan with a listed Annual price fits this team size. Contact sales or check the vendor's page.
$15 per month · $180 per year
Cheapest plan that fits: Smarter, $15 per seat or user
The vendor does not say whether this price is billed monthly or annually.
Uses list prices from each vendor's pricing page, before tax and discounts. Free plans and custom-quote plans are left out.
Method
Common questions
FreshBooks scores 78/100 and ZipBooks scores 72/100 on Curalo's consultant rubric. The biggest gap is Integrations: FreshBooks 12/15 vs 10/15.
FreshBooks's cheapest paid plan is Lite at $23 per account / month, billed monthly. ZipBooks's cheapest paid plan is Smarter at $15 per account / month (billing period not stated).
FreshBooks lists no free plan. ZipBooks has a free plan (Starter): Unlimited invoices, vendors and customers; Square or PayPal payments; 1 bank account.
FreshBooks: $23 a month on Lite. ZipBooks: $15 a month on Smarter. Annual list prices where available, before tax.
Lite only lets you invoice 5 clients. If you only need a few invoices a month, a free option like Zoho Invoice or Wave is enough. If your business is registered in Israel, a local tool such as Morning fits better.
Avoid if you already run an integrated finance and operations stack with no tooling gaps.
Guides
A framework to evaluate five pricing models, calculate what to charge, and build tiered packages — with formulas, scripts, and sourced benchmarks for solo consultants.
Ops and Finance Automation GuideA complete operations and finance stack for independent consultants — scheduling, invoicing, bookkeeping, and time tracking with budget tiers, setup sprints, and weekly cadences.
From Solo to Firm: Scaling Your Consulting PracticeYour tool needs change at every growth stage. A practical guide to the technology, processes, and decisions that take you from solo consultant to small firm — without losing what made you great.
Take our 2-minute quiz and get a personalized tool recommendation for your workflow.
Take the quizMore comparisons