← All comparisons

Tool matchup

Pocket Invoice vs ZipBooks

Pocket Invoice vs ZipBooks for consultants. Compare two Ops & Finance tools on pricing, setup speed, strengths, and Curalo score.

Pocket Invoice

Niche Fit

A free invoice maker for iOS, Android and the web. Make a PDF invoice with no signup, or use the apps for saved clients, items and multiple companies. No invoice cap, no watermark.

Free 5 min setup

Prices checked October 17, 2026

63/100

Verdict

ZipBooks leads by 9 points (strong advantage).

Decision guidance

  • ZipBooks currently leads with 72/100.
  • ZipBooks strength: Strong on outcomes.
  • Pocket Invoice trails ZipBooks most on Integrations: 3/15 vs 10/15.

What drives this decision

  • Outcome fit favors ZipBooks by 8 points.
  • Integrations favors ZipBooks by 7 points.
  • Setup speed favors Pocket Invoice by 6 points.

Decision shortcuts

Which one fits your practice

Choose Pocket Invoice if

  • Best fit: Solo consultants who just need clean PDF invoices for free, especially on the go from a phone
  • Pricing sanity matters most to you: Pocket Invoice scores 15/15 vs 10/15 for ZipBooks.
  • Setup speed matters most to you: Pocket Invoice scores 19/20 vs 13/20 for ZipBooks.

Choose ZipBooks if

  • Best fit: Consultants running delivery, billing, and back-office operations
  • Integrations matters most to you: ZipBooks scores 10/15 vs 3/15 for Pocket Invoice.
  • Outcome fit matters most to you: ZipBooks scores 20/25 vs 12/25 for Pocket Invoice.

Client-ready brief

Get this comparison decision brief

Send a concise summary of winner, trade-offs, and rollout recommendation.

  • Pocket Invoice: 63/100
  • ZipBooks: 72/100
  • ZipBooks leads by 9 points (strong advantage).

Best fit

Who each tool is for

Pocket Invoice

Niche Fit

Best for: Solo consultants who just need clean PDF invoices for free, especially on the go from a phone.

Why pick it: Unlimited invoices, multiple companies and custom PDFs for $0, on every device. There's even a no-signup web generator for a one-off invoice.

Watch for: If you want clients to pay by card, recurring retainers, time tracking or bank feeds, use Duevero, FreshBooks or Xero instead.

ZipBooks

Strong Choice

Best for: Consultants running delivery, billing, and back-office operations.

Why pick it: It centralizes operational and finance tasks that otherwise create delivery drag.

Watch for: Avoid if you already run an integrated finance and operations stack with no tooling gaps.

Swipe sideways to compare all columns.

Pocket Invoice

ZipBooks

Quick facts
Pricing sanityFreeFree, paid from $15/mo
Setup speed5 min setup30 min setup
IntelligenceFocusedMedium
Integrations1+3+
Score breakdown
Outcome fit
12/25
20/25
Setup speed
19/20
13/20
Pricing sanity
15/15
10/15
Integrations
3/15
10/15
UX polish
9/15
11/15
Trust & support
5/10
8/10
Summary
Best forSolo consultants who just need clean PDF invoices for free, especially on the go from a phone.Consultants running delivery, billing, and back-office operations.
Key strengthStrong on pricingStrong on outcomes
Main weaknessFewer integrationsSlower to set up

Pricing

Plan-by-plan pricing

Pocket Invoice

Plan-by-plan pricing is not recorded yet. See the starting price above and the vendor's pricing page.

Prices checked October 17, 2026

ZipBooks

PlanPriceLimits (vendor's wording)
StarterFreeUnlimited invoices, vendors and customers; Square or PayPal payments; 1 bank account
Smarter$15 per account / month (billing period not stated)Recurring invoices with auto-bill; reminders; time tracking; 5 team members; the pricing page shows 15 with no billing period

Prices checked October 22, 2026zipbooks.com pricing page

Cost calculator

What would you pay?

Seats
Billing

Pocket Invoice

Plan-by-plan pricing is not recorded yet. See the starting price above and the vendor's pricing page.

ZipBooks

$15 per month · $180 per year

Cheapest plan that fits: Smarter, $15 per seat or user

The vendor does not say whether this price is billed monthly or annually.

Uses list prices from each vendor's pricing page, before tax and discounts. Free plans and custom-quote plans are left out.

Method

How we checked

  • Scores: Curalo rates each tool out of 100 on six consultant criteria (outcome fit, setup speed, pricing, integrations, UX, trust and support). See the scoring method
  • Pocket Invoice: prices checked October 17, 2026.
  • ZipBooks: prices checked October 22, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page: zipbooks.com
  • Plans, limits and platforms are copied from each vendor's pricing page in the vendor's own terms.
  • Anything a vendor does not publish is shown as not listed rather than guessed. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Common questions

Questions consultants ask before choosing

Which is better for consultants, Pocket Invoice or ZipBooks?

ZipBooks scores 72/100 and Pocket Invoice scores 63/100 on Curalo's consultant rubric. The biggest gap is Integrations: ZipBooks 10/15 vs 3/15.

Is Pocket Invoice or ZipBooks cheaper?

Pocket Invoice: Free. ZipBooks's cheapest paid plan is Smarter at $15 per account / month (billing period not stated).

When is Pocket Invoice the wrong choice?

If you want clients to pay by card, recurring retainers, time tracking or bank feeds, use Duevero, FreshBooks or Xero instead.

When is ZipBooks the wrong choice?

Avoid if you already run an integrated finance and operations stack with no tooling gaps.

Guides

Guides for this matchup

Still deciding?

Take our 2-minute quiz and get a personalized tool recommendation for your workflow.

Take the quiz

More comparisons

Compare with others