← All comparisons

Tool matchup

ZipBooks vs Zoho Invoice

ZipBooks vs Zoho Invoice for consultants. Compare two Ops & Finance tools on pricing, setup speed, strengths, and Curalo score.

Zoho Invoice

Strong Choice

Free invoicing platform with reminders, recurring invoices, payment gateway support, and client portal features.

Free

Prices checked April 5, 2026

79/100

Verdict

Zoho Invoice leads by 7 points (strong advantage).

Decision guidance

  • Zoho Invoice currently leads with 79/100.
  • Zoho Invoice strength: Strong on pricing.
  • ZipBooks trails Zoho Invoice most on Pricing sanity: 10/15 vs 14/15.

What drives this decision

  • Pricing sanity favors Zoho Invoice by 4 points.
  • Setup speed favors Zoho Invoice by 1 points.
  • UX polish favors Zoho Invoice by 1 points.

Decision shortcuts

Which one fits your practice

Choose ZipBooks if

  • Best fit: Consultants running delivery, billing, and back-office operations

Choose Zoho Invoice if

  • Best fit: Freelancers and consultants who want full-featured invoicing with no recurring software cost
  • Pricing sanity matters most to you: Zoho Invoice scores 14/15 vs 10/15 for ZipBooks.
  • Trust & support matters most to you: Zoho Invoice scores 9/10 vs 8/10 for ZipBooks.

Client-ready brief

Get this comparison decision brief

Send a concise summary of winner, trade-offs, and rollout recommendation.

  • ZipBooks: 72/100
  • Zoho Invoice: 79/100
  • Zoho Invoice leads by 7 points (strong advantage).

Best fit

Who each tool is for

ZipBooks

Strong Choice

Best for: Consultants running delivery, billing, and back-office operations.

Why pick it: It centralizes operational and finance tasks that otherwise create delivery drag.

Watch for: Avoid if you already run an integrated finance and operations stack with no tooling gaps.

Zoho Invoice

Strong Choice

Best for: Freelancers and consultants who want full-featured invoicing with no recurring software cost.

Why pick it: Genuinely free invoicing product with reminders and automation that often covers everything solo operators need.

Watch for: If you need full accounting and advanced finance reporting in one platform, pair with broader accounting software.

Swipe sideways to compare all columns.

ZipBooks

Zoho Invoice

Quick facts
Pricing sanityFree, paid from $15/moFree
Integrations3+4+
Score breakdown
Outcome fit
20/25
20/25
Setup speed
13/20
14/20
Pricing sanity
10/15
14/15
Integrations
10/15
10/15
UX polish
11/15
12/15
Trust & support
8/10
9/10
Summary
Best forConsultants running delivery, billing, and back-office operations.Freelancers and consultants who want full-featured invoicing with no recurring software cost.
Key strengthStrong on outcomesStrong on pricing
Main weaknessSlower to set upFewer integrations

Pricing

Plan-by-plan pricing

ZipBooks

PlanPriceLimits (vendor's wording)
StarterFreeUnlimited invoices, vendors and customers; Square or PayPal payments; 1 bank account
Smarter$15 per account / month (billing period not stated)Recurring invoices with auto-bill; reminders; time tracking; 5 team members; the pricing page shows 15 with no billing period

Prices checked October 22, 2026zipbooks.com pricing page

Zoho Invoice

Plan-by-plan pricing is not recorded yet. See the starting price above and the vendor's pricing page.

Prices checked April 5, 2026

Cost calculator

What would you pay?

Seats
Billing

ZipBooks

$15 per month · $180 per year

Cheapest plan that fits: Smarter, $15 per seat or user

The vendor does not say whether this price is billed monthly or annually.

Zoho Invoice

Plan-by-plan pricing is not recorded yet. See the starting price above and the vendor's pricing page.

Uses list prices from each vendor's pricing page, before tax and discounts. Free plans and custom-quote plans are left out.

Method

How we checked

  • Scores: Curalo rates each tool out of 100 on six consultant criteria (outcome fit, setup speed, pricing, integrations, UX, trust and support). See the scoring method
  • ZipBooks: prices checked October 22, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page: zipbooks.com
  • Zoho Invoice: prices checked April 5, 2026.
  • Plans, limits and platforms are copied from each vendor's pricing page in the vendor's own terms.
  • Anything a vendor does not publish is shown as not listed rather than guessed. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Common questions

Questions consultants ask before choosing

Which is better for consultants, ZipBooks or Zoho Invoice?

Zoho Invoice scores 79/100 and ZipBooks scores 72/100 on Curalo's consultant rubric. The biggest gap is Pricing sanity: Zoho Invoice 14/15 vs 10/15.

Is ZipBooks or Zoho Invoice cheaper?

ZipBooks's cheapest paid plan is Smarter at $15 per account / month (billing period not stated). Zoho Invoice: Free.

When is ZipBooks the wrong choice?

Avoid if you already run an integrated finance and operations stack with no tooling gaps.

When is Zoho Invoice the wrong choice?

If you need full accounting and advanced finance reporting in one platform, pair with broader accounting software.

Guides

Guides for this matchup

Still deciding?

Take our 2-minute quiz and get a personalized tool recommendation for your workflow.

Take the quiz

More comparisons

Compare with others