← All comparisons

Tool matchup

Fathom vs Granola

Fathom vs Granola — Fathom keeps a recording of every call; Granola captures device audio with no bot and deletes the audio after transcription.

Fathom

Strong Choice

Effortless call notes. Join a meeting, get summaries and action items synced to your tools. No configuration, no manual work. Generous free tier.

Free, paid from $16/mo

Prices checked October 23, 2026fathom.ai pricing page

83/100

Granola

Strong Choice

An AI notepad built for back-to-back meetings: AI meeting notes, AI chat within and across meetings, and shared folders. Apps for desktop, iOS, Android and Apple Watch.

Free, paid from $14/mo

Prices checked October 23, 2026granola.ai pricing page

71/100

Our Verdict

FathomOur Pick

Fathom scores 83/100 and Granola 71/100. Fathom leads on setup speed (18/20 vs 14/20), UX polish (14/15 vs 11/15) and pricing (11/15 vs 9/15). The practical difference for client calls is what joins the call and what you keep afterwards. Granola captures your device's audio with no bot on every plan, and its pricing page says audio is deleted after transcription, so you keep notes and a transcript but nothing to replay. Fathom's free plan offers a choice of bot-free capture (a Mac beta) or a bot, and keeps unlimited recordings, clips and playlists. On price, Fathom's free plan includes unlimited recordings and transcription; Premium is $16/mo billed yearly ($20 monthly). Granola's free Basic plan keeps 30 days of meeting history; Business is $14 per user per month (the page does not say whether that is billed monthly or yearly). Fathom is the stronger default. Granola fits consultants who would rather no bot appears in client calls and do not need recordings.

Verdict

Fathom leads by 12 points (strong advantage).

Decision guidance

  • Fathom currently leads with 83/100.
  • Fathom strength: Strong on UX quality.
  • Granola trails Fathom most on Setup speed: 14/20 vs 18/20.

What drives this decision

  • Setup speed favors Fathom by 4 points.
  • UX polish favors Fathom by 3 points.
  • Pricing sanity favors Fathom by 2 points.

Decision shortcuts

Pick the right tool for your workflow

Both turn calls into notes. Decide on two things: whether a bot may join your client calls, and whether you need a recording afterwards.

Choose Fathom if

  • You want to replay or clip calls: Fathom keeps unlimited recordings, clips and playlists, even on the free plan.
  • You want the most on a free plan: unlimited recordings and transcription.
  • You work alone: Premium, the plan one person can buy, is $16/mo billed yearly ($20 monthly). Team ($15) needs at least 2 users.

Choose Granola if

  • No bot should appear in client calls: Granola captures device audio on every plan.
  • You take your own notes during calls and want AI to fill them in from the transcript.
  • You also take notes in person: Granola lists iOS, Android and Apple Watch apps on every plan.

Avoid this mismatch

  • Don't pick Granola if you need to replay a call: its pricing page says audio is deleted after transcription.
  • Don't count on Fathom's bot-free capture outside a Mac: the pricing page marks it as a beta for Mac.

Client-ready brief

Get this comparison decision brief

Send a concise summary of winner, trade-offs, and rollout recommendation.

  • Fathom: 83/100
  • Granola: 71/100
  • Fathom leads by 12 points (strong advantage).

Best fit

Who each tool is for

Fathom

Strong Choice

Best for: Consultants who want zero-friction call notes and task capture.

Why pick it: The lowest-friction meeting assistant available. Install once, forget it exists, and get perfect notes after every call. Free tier is genuinely usable.

Watch for: Limited analytics and no cross-meeting intelligence. If you need to search across months of conversations, Fireflies or Otter are better fits.

Granola

Strong Choice

Best for: Consultants managing recurring client delivery and reporting.

Why pick it: An AI notepad built for back-to-back meetings: AI meeting notes, AI chat within and across meetings, and shared folders. Apps for desktop, iOS, Android and Apple Watch.

Watch for: The free Basic plan keeps only limited meeting history; unlimited notes and history need Business ($14/user/mo), and the pricing page does not say whether that is billed monthly or annually.

Swipe sideways to compare all columns.

Fathom

Granola

Quick facts
Pricing sanityFree, paid from $16/moFree, paid from $14/mo
IntelligenceHighMedium
Integrations4+3+
Score breakdown
Outcome fit
20/25
19/25
Setup speed
18/20
14/20
Pricing sanity
11/15
9/15
Integrations
12/15
10/15
UX polish
14/15
11/15
Trust & support
8/10
8/10
Summary
Best forConsultants who want zero-friction call notes and task capture.Consultants managing recurring client delivery and reporting.
Key strengthStrong on UX qualityStrong on trust

Pricing

Plan-by-plan pricing

Fathom

PlanPriceLimits (vendor's wording)
FreeFreeUnlimited recordings and transcription; instant AI summaries
Premium$16 per user / month, billed annually$20 per user / month, billed monthlyFor individuals: advanced summaries, AI action items
Team$15 per user / month, billed annually$19 per user / month, billed monthly2-user minimum; team search and shared playlists
Business$25 per user / month, billed annually$34 per user / month, billed monthly2-user minimum; CRM field sync; coaching metrics
EnterpriseContact salesContact sales; SSO and SCIM

Prices checked October 23, 2026fathom.ai pricing page

Granola

PlanPriceLimits (vendor's wording)
BasicFreeAI meeting notes with limited meeting history
Business$14 per user / month (billing period not stated)Unlimited meeting notes and history; Attio, Notion, HubSpot and Zapier integrations; billing period not stated on the pricing page
Enterprise$35 per user / month (billing period not stated)SSO; org-wide admin controls; billing period not stated on the pricing page

Prices checked October 23, 2026granola.ai pricing page

Cost calculator

What would you pay?

Seats
Billing

Fathom

$16 per month · $192 per year

Cheapest plan that fits: Premium, $16 per seat or user

Team left out: needs at least 2 users.

Granola

$14 per month · $168 per year

Cheapest plan that fits: Business, $14 per seat or user

The vendor does not say whether this price is billed monthly or annually.

Uses list prices from each vendor's pricing page, before tax and discounts. Free plans and custom-quote plans are left out.

Platforms

Where each tool runs

PlatformFathomGranola
iOS appListedListed
Mac capture without a bot (beta)ListedNot listed on vendor pricing page
Mac appNot listed on vendor pricing pageListed
Android appNot listed on vendor pricing pageListed
Apple Watch appNot listed on vendor pricing pageListed

Based only on what each vendor's pricing page states. A platform that is not listed there may still be supported.

Method

How we checked

  • Scores: Curalo rates each tool out of 100 on six consultant criteria (outcome fit, setup speed, pricing, integrations, UX, trust and support). See the scoring method
  • Fathom: prices checked October 23, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page: fathom.ai
  • Granola: prices checked October 23, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page: granola.ai
  • Plans, limits and platforms are copied from each vendor's pricing page in the vendor's own terms.
  • Anything a vendor does not publish is shown as not listed rather than guessed. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's page before buying.

Used by consultants

  • Dvir NaamanGranolaUses itTech & AI stack: Mostly tools for building software, AI and automations

From a consultant who wrote about this tool. This does not affect the score.

Common questions

Questions consultants ask before choosing

Does a bot join the call?

Granola never sends a bot: it captures your device's audio on every plan. Fathom offers a choice of bot-free capture (a beta for Mac) or a bot.

Can I replay a call later?

With Fathom, yes: it keeps recordings, clips and playlists. Granola's pricing page says audio is deleted after transcription, so you keep the notes and transcript only.

What does each cost for one person?

Fathom Premium is $16/mo billed yearly or $20 monthly; Fathom Team ($15) needs at least 2 users. Granola Business is $14 per user per month; the page does not state the billing period. Both have free plans. Checked October 23, 2026.

Which is better for consultants, Fathom or Granola?

Fathom scores 83/100 and Granola scores 71/100 on Curalo's consultant rubric. The biggest gap is Setup speed: Fathom 18/20 vs 14/20.

Is Fathom or Granola cheaper?

Fathom's cheapest paid plan is Premium at $16 per user / month, billed annually. Granola's cheapest paid plan is Business at $14 per user / month (billing period not stated).

Do Fathom and Granola have a free plan?

Fathom has a free plan: Unlimited recordings and transcription; instant AI summaries. Granola has a free plan (Basic): AI meeting notes with limited meeting history.

What would one user pay for Fathom or Granola?

Fathom: $16 a month on Premium. (Team needs at least 2 users.) Granola: $14 a month on Business. Annual list prices where available, before tax.

When is Fathom the wrong choice?

Limited analytics and no cross-meeting intelligence. If you need to search across months of conversations, Fireflies or Otter are better fits.

When is Granola the wrong choice?

The free Basic plan keeps only limited meeting history; unlimited notes and history need Business ($14/user/mo), and the pricing page does not say whether that is billed monthly or annually.

Guides

Guides for this matchup

Still deciding?

Take our 2-minute quiz and get a personalized tool recommendation for your workflow.

Take the quiz

More comparisons

Compare with others